vulnerability

i need to talk about vulnerability for a second.  (or for quite some time)… shame has held me back from being vulnerable… from my friends, even from my doctors and therapist.  when that happens, i know that shit is bad.  my family doesn’t count in this because we’re never vulnerable, about anything. a doctor told me today that in order to move on from the hurtful jackass of the past few weeks, that i need to pause – take a break – from dating, from intimate relationships for some time… until i’m able to truly reclaim myself after what happened with the jackass guy… that i need to pick myself up (and allow OTHERS to help me too) and move towards healing. to work with trusted friends, my doctors, and therapist to help me on my journey.

everything with that guy started so  fast.  my voice was silenced – not heard – not respected. “you deserve better”, is what i’ve heard.  does anyone else have a difficult time grasping this concept, especially after a tumultuous situation?

i hope that the beginning of vulnerability is helpful and encouraging to others. may this journey continue – even if it’s painful.  because life isn’t all flowers and unicorns.

{because we are real human beings that need connection to survive.  your story is important, and no one can take your place.  don’t let shame hold you  back.  one foot in front of the other, together}

Leave a Reply

